jump to navigation

A Reason To Celebrate March 28, 2007

Posted by Kimberly in General.
trackback

Filed by Linda Wang

I consider myself pretty lucky. At $125 a ticket, not everyone gets to attend the ACS Oscars (a.k.a. the awards banquet). In fact, this is my second time attending this glamorous affair, and like the first time, there were women in sparkly dresses, men in tuxedos, and all the hors d’oeuvres you can eat. What was different about this event, for me, is that now I know many more people in ACS. Not a minute went by before I saw another familiar face.

At one point during the evening, it occurred to me that this is what the national meeting is all about. It’s not about trying to make it to all the events I can possibly attend. And it’s not about coming up with the best story idea under the sun. I think people will agree with me when I say a successful meeting is when you’ve met some new people and reinforced the relationships you already have.

During the awards event, I saw many people hug each other as if they hadn’t seen each other in years. Many people took the opportunity to get group photos, which will become precious to them in years to come. It was truly a reason to celebrate.

Hopefully, one day I can attend an awards banquet and say I know everyone in ACS. But then, some of the fun will be over too.

Comments»

1. Party Pills Brisbane - October 24, 2010

Fantastic blog! I genuinely love how it is easy on my eyes and also the details are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made… I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

2. Herbal Incense Reviews - November 14, 2010

Hello, usually I never comment on WordPress blogs however today I’m afraid I absolutely have to do it. These days I decided to install the latest version of the Chrome browser and this website doesn’t display properly ever since. Your header overlaps part of the text and I can’t read it. I had a similar problem with my herbal incense reviews blog and I was able to fix it by editing the PHP code. Can you fix it? Thank you! Please excuse my English, it’s not native language.


Leave a Reply

